GoTo Meeting vs Zoom (2026)
By Noahlast updated
GoTo Meeting
Web conferencing software from GoTo with HD video, AI transcription, and meetings for up to 250 attendees, aimed at business and enterprise teams.
- Pricing
- Custom pricing
- License
- Paid
- Best for
- regulated and IT-managed businesses (healthcare, education, professional services) that need HIPAA-compliant video conferencing with enterprise admin controls
Zoom
Video meetings, team chat, and phone in one workplace platform, from around $14/user/month billed annually.
- Pricing
- Free tier · paid from $14.16/mo
- License
- Freemium
- Best for
- hybrid teams that need reliable HD video meetings, phone, and chat under one login, from solo users on the free plan up to 1,000-participant company town halls
Choose GoTo Meeting if…
- You need HIPAA-compliant video conferencing with SOC2-certified data centers for healthcare or another regulated industry
- You want unlimited cloud recording included from the entry-level paid tier, not capped at 10GB like Zoom Pro
- You need SSO and an active directory connector for IT-managed enterprise rollouts
- You operate in many countries and want a vendor that explicitly advertises reach across 190+ countries
Choose Zoom if…
- You want a genuinely free tier to use indefinitely, since GoTo Meeting offers no free plan, only a 14-day trial
- You need meetings that scale up to 1,000 participants, well beyond GoTo Meeting's 250-participant cap even on Enterprise
- You want a native Linux desktop client, which GoTo Meeting doesn't offer
- You want one platform that also covers phone, team chat, and whiteboarding, even if some of those (Zoom Phone, Webinars, Rooms) are separate add-ons
GoTo Meeting vs Zoom: feature comparison
| Feature | GoTo Meeting | Zoom |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price (published) | UnknownGoTo's pricing page loads dollar amounts dynamically and wasn't retrievable as static text | Yesfree (Basic); paid Pro from $14.16/mo billed annually |
| Free tier | Nono free tier, only a 14-day trial | YesBasic tier free forever, with meeting-length limits |
| Max participants (top tier) | Partialcaps at 250 participants even on Enterprise | Yesup to 1,000 participants on Enterprise |
| Cloud recording storage | Yesunlimited cloud recording included from the Professional tier | Partial10GB cloud storage at Pro; unlimited only at Enterprise |
| AI meeting summaries and transcription | Yesincluded on paid plans | YesAI Companion included free on paid plans, 3 free uses on Basic |
| HIPAA compliance | YesHIPAA-compliant video with SOC2-certified data centers | Unknownnot specified in our listing data |
| Platforms | Partialweb, Windows, macOS, iOS, Android (no native Linux client) | Yesweb, Windows, macOS, Linux, iOS, Android |
| SSO / admin controls | YesSSO and active directory connector included | YesSSO and managed domains from the Business tier ($18.33/mo) |
| External rating | Yes4.4/5 from 11,531 reviews (Capterra) | Yes4.6/5 from 14,659 reviews (Capterra) |
| Global reach | Yesavailable in 190+ countries | Unknownnot specified in our listing data |
| Meeting length limits | Unknownno free tier to compare meeting-length limits | Partialfree Basic group meetings capped at 40 minutes |
| Unified communications (phone, chat, whiteboard) | Partialbroader GoTo Connect/Resolve suite exists but is a separate, potentially confusing bundle | PartialZoom Phone, Webinars, and Rooms are separate paid add-ons on top of the base license |
| Trial terms | Yes14-day free trial, no credit card required | YesBasic tier is free forever, functioning as an ongoing trial |
| Pricing transparency | Nodollar prices not published as static text on the pricing page | NoZoom's own site no longer publishes exact Pro/Business dollar figures; third-party trackers report about $14-17 and $18-22/mo |
Which is cheaper, GoTo Meeting or Zoom?
Neither vendor publishes complete static pricing, but Zoom has a genuinely free tier while GoTo Meeting offers only a 14-day trial.
GoTo Meeting's pricing page loads dollar amounts dynamically and no static figures were retrievable in our listing data. Zoom's Basic tier is free forever (with a 40-minute cap on group meetings), and its Pro tier is reported at roughly $14.16/month billed annually by third-party pricing trackers, since Zoom's own site no longer publishes exact Pro and Business dollar amounts either.
Is GoTo Meeting HIPAA-compliant?
Yes — GoTo Meeting offers HIPAA-compliant video conferencing with SOC2-certified data centers, a compliance claim our listing data doesn't document for Zoom.
How many participants can GoTo Meeting and Zoom support?
Zoom scales much higher — up to 1,000 participants on Enterprise — while GoTo Meeting caps out at 250 participants even on its Enterprise plan.
Does Zoom offer unlimited cloud recording like GoTo Meeting?
No — Zoom's Pro tier includes only 10GB of cloud storage, while GoTo Meeting includes unlimited cloud recording starting at its Professional tier.
Strengths and weaknesses
GoTo Meeting
Pros
- HIPAA-compliant video meetings with SOC2-certified data centers for healthcare and regulated industries.
- One-click meeting join with no download required for attendees.
- AI meeting summaries, transcription, and slide-to-PDF conversion included on paid plans.
- Admin center with active directory connector, SSO, and downloadable diagnostic reports for IT-managed rollouts.
Cons
- Exact pricing is not published as static text; the pricing page loads dollar amounts dynamically, requiring extra steps to compare costs.
- No free tier; only a 14-day trial with no credit card required.
- Professional tier caps at 150 participants, below the 250-person capacity of competitors like Zoom at similar price points.
- GoTo's broader product suite (GoTo Connect, GoTo Resolve) can make it unclear which bundle a buyer actually needs versus standalone GoTo Meeting.
Zoom
Pros
- AI Companion (meeting summaries, smart chapters, follow-up suggestions) is included free on paid plans rather than a paid add-on.
- Consistently reliable HD video and audio even on weaker connections, thanks to adaptive bandwidth handling.
- One platform covers meetings, phone (Zoom Phone), team chat, whiteboard, and docs instead of stitching together separate tools.
- Native apps for Windows, macOS, Linux, iOS, and Android, including a full Linux client many competitors skip.
Cons
- Free Basic plan limits group meetings to 40 minutes, forcing an upgrade for most recurring team calls.
- Exact Pro and Business pricing is no longer published on Zoom's own site, requiring a sales conversation or third-party source to confirm.
- Zoom Phone, large-meeting capacity, and webinar capabilities are separate paid add-ons on top of the base per-user license.
- Business Plus was folded into a bundled add-on rather than sold as its own standalone tier, complicating plan comparisons.
Which fits your use case?
| Use case | Pick | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Healthcare provider needing HIPAA-compliant video conferencing | GoTo Meeting | GoTo Meeting explicitly offers HIPAA-compliant video with SOC2-certified data centers; our listing data doesn't document that for Zoom. |
| Company hosting large all-hands meetings or town halls | Zoom | Zoom scales to 1,000 participants on Enterprise, well above GoTo Meeting's 250-participant cap. |
| Team that wants to test video conferencing without paying anything | Zoom | Zoom's Basic tier is free forever; GoTo Meeting offers only a 14-day trial with no permanent free plan. |
| Organization that records most meetings and wants storage included | GoTo Meeting | GoTo Meeting includes unlimited cloud recording from its Professional tier; Zoom Pro caps cloud storage at 10GB. |
| Linux-based IT department standardizing on native desktop clients | Zoom | Zoom ships a native Linux client; GoTo Meeting's platform list has no Linux support. |
Neither a match?
Both lists carry verified pricing and honest weaknesses for every option.
Popular comparisons
GoTo Meeting vs Zoom: migration FAQ
Should I use GoTo Meeting or Zoom?
- Use GoTo Meeting for HIPAA-compliant video and unlimited cloud recording in regulated industries; use Zoom for a free tier, higher participant limits, and native Linux support.
Does GoTo Meeting have a free plan?
- No — GoTo Meeting offers only a 14-day trial with no credit card required, while Zoom's Basic tier is free forever with a 40-minute cap on group meetings.
Which supports more meeting participants, GoTo Meeting or Zoom?
- Zoom, which scales to 1,000 participants on Enterprise versus GoTo Meeting's 250-participant cap even on its top plan.
Is GoTo Meeting HIPAA-compliant?
- Yes — GoTo Meeting is built for HIPAA-compliant video with SOC2-certified data centers, a claim our listing data doesn't document for Zoom.
Can Zoom replace GoTo Meeting for a regulated business?
- Only if HIPAA compliance isn't a hard requirement — our listing data documents that claim for GoTo Meeting but not for Zoom.