Bitwarden vs LastPass (2026)
By Noahlast updated
Bitwarden
An open-source password manager with GPL-licensed client code, a genuinely free tier, and paid plans starting at $1.65/month for individuals.
- Pricing
- Free tier · paid from $1.65/mo
- License
- Open core
- Best for
- individuals and teams who want an open-source, independently audited password manager they can self-host, at roughly half the price of 1Password or Dashlane
LastPass
A password manager storing logins, passkeys, and secure notes across devices, with a single-device-type free tier and Premium plans from about $3/month billed annually.
- Pricing
- Free tier · paid from $3/mo
- License
- Freemium
- Best for
- individuals and small businesses that want a widely compatible password manager with mature browser and OS support, and who are not deterred by LastPass's 2022 breach history
Choose Bitwarden if…
- You want open-source, independently audited client and server code you or a security team can inspect on GitHub
- You want the option to self-host your own vault infrastructure, including the community Vaultwarden server
- You want a free tier that syncs unlimited passwords across unlimited devices with no time limit
- You're price-sensitive and want roughly half of LastPass's promotional cost at comparable tiers
- You want a vendor with no disclosed vault breaches in this data
Choose LastPass if…
- You want dark-web monitoring included on the Premium tier without upgrading further
- You need Business Max-tier SaaS Monitoring and SaaS Protect for tracking unsanctioned app usage org-wide
- You're not deterred by LastPass's 2022 breach disclosures and value its larger third-party review base (2,786 Capterra reviews)
- You're fine with a free tier that syncs only one device type (computers or mobile, not both)
Bitwarden vs LastPass: feature comparison
| Feature | Bitwarden | LastPass |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | Yesfrom $1.65/mo (Premium, billed annually) | Yesfrom $3/mo (Premium, billed annually, active promotional rate) |
| Free tier | Yesunlimited passwords and devices, no time limit | Partialsyncs one device type only (computers OR mobile, not both) |
| Platforms | Yesweb, Windows, macOS, Linux, iOS, Android | Yesweb, Windows, macOS, Linux, iOS, Android |
| License | Partialopen-core (GPL-3.0 client, mixed-license server components) | Noclosed-source, proprietary |
| Self-hosting | Yesofficial self-hosting plus community Vaultwarden server | Unknownnot described in the data |
| Built-in authenticator | Yesfrom $1.65/mo (Premium) | Unknown |
| Encrypted file storage | Yes5GB from $1.65/mo (Premium) | Yes1GB from ~$3/mo (Premium) |
| Dark web monitoring | Unknownnot listed among Bitwarden's tiers | Yesincluded on Premium |
| Family plan | Yesup to 6 people, $3.99/mo | Yesup to 6 individual Premium accounts, ~$4/mo |
| Business Enterprise / top-tier pricing | Yes$6/user/mo (Enterprise) | UnknownBusiness Max priced per user, not disclosed |
| Disclosed security breach history | Nono disclosed breaches in this data | Notwo connected security incidents disclosed in 2022, exposing encrypted vault backups |
| External rating (Capterra) | Yes4.7/5 from 216 reviews | Yes4.6/5 from 2,786 reviews |
| External rating (Product Hunt) | Yes4.8/5 from 16 reviews | Unknownno Product Hunt rating in the data |
| Business Teams tier | Yes$4/user/mo (Teams) | Unknownpriced per user, not disclosed, up to 50 users |
Bitwarden vs LastPass pricing: which costs less?
Bitwarden costs less at every disclosed tier, starting at $1.65/month against LastPass's roughly $3/month promotional Premium rate.
Bitwarden Premium is $1.65/month billed annually with no promotional caveat noted. LastPass Premium is listed around $3/month billed annually, but the data flags this as an active promotional discount of roughly 30% off for new customers, and separately notes a documented history of renewal pricing jumping above that first-year rate. At the Families tier the two are close ($3.99 versus roughly $4/month), but Bitwarden's Enterprise tier ($6/user/month) is fully disclosed while LastPass's equivalent Business Max tier has no published per-user price.
Which is more secure, Bitwarden or LastPass?
Bitwarden's security position is stronger in this data: its code is open source and independently audited with no disclosed breaches, while LastPass disclosed two connected security incidents in 2022 that exposed encrypted customer vault backups.
Bitwarden's client code is published under GPL-3.0 and independently audited, letting outside researchers verify the encryption implementation directly. LastPass uses zero-knowledge, client-side encryption as well, but the company disclosed two connected 2022 incidents — attackers accessing encrypted customer vault backups, and separately an employee's home computer used to reach cloud storage keys — which the data cites as the top reason competitors gained switchers afterward.
Which is easier to use, Bitwarden or LastPass?
Both hold a low learning-curve rating in the data, so neither is clearly harder to learn day to day.
Can LastPass replace Bitwarden?
Yes for users who want dark-web monitoring bundled at a promotional price and aren't deterred by LastPass's 2022 breach history, but LastPass has no self-hosting option described and costs roughly double Bitwarden's price at comparable tiers.
LastPass covers the core password-manager use case with zero-knowledge encryption, autofill, and dark-web monitoring on Premium. Users who specifically rely on Bitwarden's open-source, independently audited code or its official self-hosting and Vaultwarden options will not find an equivalent in LastPass, which is closed-source and cloud-only in this data.
Strengths and weaknesses
Bitwarden
Pros
- Open-source, independently audited client and server code that anyone can inspect on GitHub.
- Free tier includes unlimited passwords and devices with no artificial time limit.
- Roughly half the price of 1Password or Dashlane at every comparable tier.
- Official self-hosting option, plus a community Vaultwarden server for lighter-weight self-hosting.
Cons
- Free tier excludes the integrated authenticator and file attachments, which require upgrading to Premium.
- Server code isn't purely open source; some enterprise components ship under a separate Bitwarden license alongside the GPL-3.0 core.
- Interface and browser extension are generally considered less polished than 1Password's.
- No bundled VPN or dark-web monitoring the way some competitors include at similar price points.
LastPass
Pros
- Broad platform support across every major browser, Windows, macOS, Linux, iOS, and Android.
- Dark web monitoring alerts when a stored email or password appears in a known breach.
- Business Max tier adds SaaS Monitoring and SaaS Protect for tracking unsanctioned app usage org-wide.
- Family plan covers up to 6 individual Premium accounts under a single admin-managed bill.
Cons
- Disclosed two connected security breaches in 2022 that exposed encrypted customer vault data, a lasting trust issue competitors still use in switching campaigns.
- Free tier restricts syncing to a single device type (computers or mobile), not both at once.
- Trustpilot reviewers report recurring billing, cancellation, and support-access complaints, a sharp contrast to its higher Capterra rating.
- Renewal pricing has a documented history of jumping above the promotional first-year rate.
Which fits your use case?
| Use case | Pick | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Security-conscious team that wants to audit or self-host the code | Bitwarden | Bitwarden's client code is open source under GPL-3.0 with an official self-hosting option; LastPass is closed-source with no self-hosting described. |
| User who wants dark-web monitoring included without upgrading past the entry paid tier | LastPass | LastPass includes dark-web monitoring on its Premium tier; Bitwarden's tiers don't list this feature. |
| Budget-conscious individual choosing the cheapest paid password manager | Bitwarden | Bitwarden Premium is $1.65/month versus LastPass's roughly $3/month promotional Premium rate. |
| Enterprise wanting to track unsanctioned SaaS app usage org-wide | LastPass | LastPass Business Max adds SaaS Monitoring and SaaS Protect; Bitwarden's Enterprise tier doesn't list an equivalent. |
| Family wanting a shared plan for up to 6 people under one bill | Tie | Both offer family coverage for up to 6 people at nearly identical prices — Bitwarden $3.99/mo, LastPass roughly $4/mo. |
| Organization that treats vendor breach history as a hard requirement | Bitwarden | Bitwarden has no disclosed breaches in this data, while LastPass disclosed two connected security incidents in 2022. |
Neither a match?
Both lists carry verified pricing and honest weaknesses for every option.
Popular comparisons
Bitwarden vs LastPass: migration FAQ
Should I use Bitwarden or LastPass?
- Use Bitwarden if you want open-source, audited code with a genuinely free tier and self-hosting; use LastPass if dark-web monitoring on a promotional entry price matters more to you than breach history.
Is Bitwarden cheaper than LastPass?
- Yes — Bitwarden Premium starts at $1.65/month versus LastPass's roughly $3/month promotional Premium rate, and LastPass's data notes renewal pricing has jumped above that promotional rate before.
Can LastPass replace Bitwarden?
- Yes for users who want bundled dark-web monitoring and aren't deterred by its 2022 breach history, but LastPass offers no self-hosting option and costs roughly double at comparable tiers.
Has LastPass been breached?
- Yes — LastPass disclosed two connected security incidents in 2022 in which attackers accessed encrypted customer vault backups, which the data cites as a lasting trust issue competitors use in switching campaigns.
Is Bitwarden open source?
- Yes — Bitwarden's client code is published on GitHub under GPL-3.0 and independently audited, though its server carries a mixed license with some enterprise components under a separate Bitwarden license.