# Miro vs Mural (2026)

By Noah — last updated & pricing verified October 23, 2026.

> **Verdict:** Choose Miro if you want one canvas for whiteboarding, diagramming, docs, tables, kanban and slides, with two-way Jira and Asana sync and a working MCP server, from $8/member/month billed annually. Choose Mural if you run facilitated workshops and want summon, timer, anonymous voting and private mode on every plan, Free included. The deciding factor is breadth versus facilitation: Miro's canvas does more and its apps rate higher, while Mural costs less at the Business tier ($17.99 vs $20/member/month billed annually) and lists SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO 27001.

**Choose Miro if:** You want Docs, Tables, Timelines, Kanban and Slides on the same canvas as the whiteboard; You diagram systems and need 4,700+ shapes for UML, BPMN, AWS and Mermaid (Miro Business); You want board content synced both ways with Jira, Asana or Linear, or read by Claude, Cursor and Copilot through Miro's MCP server; You want the cheaper paid entry: Miro Starter is $8/member/month billed annually against Mural Team+ at $9.99; Your team works from phones and tablets, where Miro's apps rate 4.7/5 from 5,845 App Store ratings and 4.4/5 from 20.2K Google Play reviews

**Choose Mural if:** You run workshops on a free plan and need summon, timer, anonymous voting, private mode and facilitator lock, all included on Mural Free; You are buying SSO and guest access for many seats, where Mural Business costs $17.99/member/month billed annually against Miro Business at $20; Your security review asks for SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO 27001, which Mural lists; You run design-thinking programs and want LUMA Institute frameworks built in (Mural Business); You present on Surface Hub interactive displays, which Mural supports with its own app

## At a glance

|  | Miro | Mural |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Pricing | Free tier · paid from $8/mo | Free tier · paid from $9.99/mo |
| License | Freemium | Freemium |
| Best for | running live workshops and planning sessions (retros, journey maps, roadmaps) with distributed teams on a shared board | running facilitated workshops and design-thinking sessions with large groups, including outside participants who join free as visitors |
| Ratings | — | — |

## Feature comparison

| Feature | Miro | Mural |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Starting price | Yes (free plan; paid from $8/member/month (Starter, billed annually)) | Yes (free plan; paid from $9.99/member/month (Team+, billed annually)) |
| Free tier | Partial (3 editable boards, no guest role, boards visible to the whole team) | Partial (3 editable murals at a time, view-only visitors, all facilitation features) |
| Business tier (SSO, guests) | Yes ($20/member/month billed annually, or $25 monthly) | Yes ($17.99/member/month, billed annually only) |
| Platforms | Yes (web, Windows, macOS, iOS, Android) | Yes (web, Windows, macOS, iOS, Android, Surface Hub) |
| License | No (proprietary, freemium) | No (proprietary, freemium) |
| Facilitation tools | Partial (timer and voting from $8/member/month (Starter)) | Yes (summon, timer, anonymous voting, private mode, facilitator lock on every plan) |
| Outside participants | Partial (visitor editing from Starter, signed-in guests from Business) | Yes (free visitors on every plan, editing from Team+, guests from Business) |
| Templates | Yes (7,000+) | Yes (250+, plus LUMA frameworks (Business)) |
| Docs, tables, kanban and slides on the board | Yes (Docs, Tables, Kanban and Slides, free plan included) | Unknown |
| Diagramming | Yes (4,700+ shapes for UML, BPMN, AWS, Mermaid (Business)) | Yes (shapes and diagrams) |
| AI | Yes (Miro AI, 10 credits/month free, 25 (Starter) or 50 (Business) per member) | Yes (Mural AI from $9.99/member/month (Team+)) |
| MCP server for AI agents | Yes (Claude, Cursor, Copilot; 500 calls/day on Starter) | No (listed as coming soon) |
| Integrations | Yes (250+ apps; two-way Jira, Asana, Linear sync (Business)) | Partial (Zoom, Webex (Team+); Azure, GitHub, Okta (Business)) |
| Security certifications | Unknown | Yes (SOC 2 Type 2, ISO 27001) |
| Enterprise controls | Yes (SCIM, audit trails, EU/US/Australia/Japan data residency (Enterprise, 30+ members)) | Yes (SCIM, audit logs, data residency, bring-your-own-key encryption (Enterprise)) |
| Mobile app rating | Yes (4.7/5 from 5,845 ratings (App Store); 4.4/5 from 20.2K reviews (Google Play)) | Partial (2.3/5 from 73 ratings (App Store); 3.1/5 from 559 reviews (Google Play)) |
| Learning curve | Yes (low) | Partial (moderate) |

## Miro vs Mural pricing: which costs less?

Miro costs less at the entry paid tier ($8 vs $9.99/member/month billed annually), while Mural costs less at the Business tier ($17.99 vs $20/member/month billed annually), and both have free plans capped at three editable boards.

Miro Starter is $8/member/month billed annually or $10 monthly, and Miro Business is $20 annually or $25 monthly with a 14-day free trial. Mural Team+ is $9.99/member/month billed annually or $12 monthly, and Mural Business is $17.99/member/month billed annually only. For a 10-member team, Miro Starter runs $80 a month against $99.90 for Mural Team+, while Miro Business runs $200 against $179.90 for Mural Business. Both charge a seat for every workspace member; Mural visitors join individual murals free on every plan, and Miro offers visitor editing from Starter.

## Which is better for facilitating workshops, Miro or Mural?

Mural is built for facilitation, with summon, timer, anonymous voting, private mode, an outline with hide-and-reveal, laser pointer and facilitator lock on every plan including Free, while Miro adds a timer and voting from its $8/member/month Starter plan.

A Mural facilitator prepares a mural with an outline, instructions and hidden sections, then summons everyone to one spot, time-boxes activities, collects anonymous votes and locks content so nothing moves by accident. Mural Business adds LUMA Institute design-thinking frameworks, and Mural pairs the software with LUMA's training. Miro's paid plans add facilitation tools such as a timer, voting and private mode, and Miro Business adds polls and 2x2 matrices. Miro's own best fit is live workshops such as retros, journey maps and roadmap sessions, but only Mural includes the full facilitator kit on its free plan.

## Which does more beyond whiteboarding, Miro or Mural?

Miro does more beyond whiteboarding, putting Docs, Tables, Timelines, Kanban and Slides on the same canvas and adding 4,700+ diagram shapes, interactive prototypes and AI workflows on Business, while Mural's listing centers on sticky notes, drawings, shapes and facilitation.

Miro Business includes shapes for UML, BPMN, AWS and Mermaid diagrams, nested data tables, polls, interactive prototypes generated from screenshots, code or prompts, and two-way Jira, Asana and Linear sync. Miro connects to 250+ apps and offers 7,000+ templates, against Mural's 250+ templates. Miro's MCP server already connects boards to Claude, Cursor and Copilot, with 500 calls per day on Starter, while Mural lists its MCP server for Claude, ChatGPT and Gemini as coming soon. Miro AI is metered at 25 credits per member per month on Starter, which Miro equates to about 12 document summaries.

## Is Mural more secure than Miro?

Mural documents more on security, listing SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO 27001 certifications that Miro's listing does not state, but Miro and Mural both reserve SCIM, audit logs and data residency for custom-priced Enterprise plans.

Mural Enterprise adds multiple workspaces, SCIM, audit logs and reporting APIs, required 2FA, data residency and bring-your-own-key encryption, and Mural Business adds SAML 2.0 SSO. Miro Enterprise starts at 30 members and adds SCIM, audit trails, pooled AI credits and data residency in the EU, US, Australia or Japan, and Miro Business includes SSO. Miro's Free plan makes every board visible to the whole team, with unlimited private boards starting on Starter.

## Strengths and weaknesses

### Miro

- Pro: Free plan with unlimited members, 7,000+ templates and 250+ integrations.
- Pro: Docs, Tables, Timelines, Kanban and Slides live on the same canvas as the whiteboard.
- Pro: Visitor editing on Starter lets outsiders edit a public board without signing in.
- Pro: Native apps for Windows, Mac, iOS and Android; the iOS app rates 4.7/5 from 5,845 App Store ratings.
- Pro: An MCP server and two-way Jira, Asana, Linear and ClickUp sync (Business) connect board content to AI and delivery tools.
- Con: The Free plan allows only 3 editable boards, and every board is visible to the whole team.
- Con: Each workspace member takes a paid seat; signed-in guests require Business at $20/member/month billed annually.
- Con: AI is credit-metered: 25 credits per member per month on Starter and 50 on Business.
- Con: Enterprise features such as SCIM and data residency require at least 30 members.

### Mural

- Pro: Facilitation tools (timer, anonymous voting, private mode, summon, facilitator lock) are included on every plan, Free included.
- Pro: Visitors join individual murals free on every plan, so one-time participants never need a paid seat.
- Pro: 250+ templates, plus LUMA design-thinking frameworks on Business.
- Pro: Apps for the web, Windows, macOS, iOS, Android and Surface Hub interactive displays.
- Pro: SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO 27001 certified, with data residency and bring-your-own-key encryption on Enterprise.
- Con: The Free plan allows only 3 editable murals at a time.
- Con: Business ($17.99/member/month) is billed annually only, and SSO and ongoing guest access start there.
- Con: Mobile apps rate 2.3/5 on the App Store (73 ratings) and 3.1/5 on Google Play (559 reviews).
- Con: Mural's MCP server for AI agents is still listed as coming soon.

## Which fits your use case?

| Use case | Pick | Why |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Facilitator running free workshops for a community group or class | Mural | Mural's Free plan includes summon, timer, anonymous voting, private mode and facilitator lock; Miro's timer and voting start on the $8/member/month Starter plan. |
| Product and engineering team turning workshop output into a Jira backlog | Miro | Miro Business syncs both ways with Jira, Asana and Linear, and Miro's MCP server connects boards to Claude, Cursor and Copilot; Mural's MCP server is still coming soon. |
| Small team that wants the cheapest paid whiteboard | Miro | Miro Starter costs $8/member/month billed annually ($10 monthly) against Mural Team+ at $9.99 ($12 monthly). |
| Large organization buying SSO and guest access for 100 members | Mural | Mural Business is $17.99/member/month billed annually against Miro Business at $20, a difference of $2,412 a year at 100 members. |
| Team that reviews boards from phones and tablets | Miro | Miro's apps rate 4.7/5 from 5,845 App Store ratings and 4.4/5 from 20.2K Google Play reviews, against Mural's 2.3/5 from 73 and 3.1/5 from 559. |
| Enterprise buyer with a formal security review | Mural | Mural lists SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO 27001 and offers bring-your-own-key encryption on Enterprise; Miro's listing does not state its certifications. |

## Migration FAQ

### Should I use Miro or Mural?

Use Miro if you want the broader canvas, with docs, tables, kanban, slides, 4,700+ diagram shapes and two-way Jira sync, from $8/member/month; use Mural if facilitation is the main job and you want the full facilitator toolkit on every plan, including Free.

### Is Miro cheaper than Mural?

Miro is cheaper at the entry paid tier, $8 vs $9.99 per member per month billed annually, but Mural is cheaper at the Business tier, $17.99 vs $20. Miro and Mural both have free plans limited to three editable boards.

### Can Mural replace Miro?

Yes for workshops, brainstorms and retrospectives, where Mural's facilitation tools are stronger on the free plan. Mural's listing does not include Miro's docs, tables, kanban and slides formats, its 4,700+ diagram shapes or a working MCP server.

### Does Mural have a free plan?

Yes — Mural's Free plan covers unlimited members and unlimited murals with 3 editable at a time, unlimited view-only visitors and all facilitation features. Miro's Free plan also allows unlimited members but only 3 editable boards and no guest role.

### Which has better mobile apps, Miro or Mural?

Miro has the better-rated mobile apps, at 4.7/5 from 5,845 App Store ratings and 4.4/5 from 20.2K Google Play reviews. Mural's apps rate 2.3/5 from 73 App Store ratings and 3.1/5 from 559 Google Play reviews.

## Neither a match?

- 6 alternatives to Miro: https://findalternative.to/miro
- 4 alternatives to Mural: https://findalternative.to/mural

---

Markdown mirror of https://findalternative.to/compare/miro-vs-mural — findalternative.to, honestly ranked software alternatives. AI info: https://findalternative.to/ai