# GoTo Meeting vs Zoom (2026)

By Noah — last updated & pricing verified September 14, 2026.

> **Verdict:** Choose GoTo Meeting if you need HIPAA-compliant video with SOC2-certified data centers, unlimited cloud recording from the entry paid tier, and SSO with an active directory connector for a regulated or IT-managed deployment. Choose Zoom if you want a free tier to start, meetings that scale up to 1,000 participants (versus GoTo Meeting's 250-participant cap even on Enterprise), and a native Linux client. The deciding factor is compliance versus flexibility: GoTo Meeting is built for regulated industries needing HIPAA compliance, while Zoom's free tier, higher participant ceiling, and broader platform support fit teams that don't need that specific compliance guarantee.

**Choose GoTo Meeting if:** You need HIPAA-compliant video conferencing with SOC2-certified data centers for healthcare or another regulated industry; You want unlimited cloud recording included from the entry-level paid tier, not capped at 10GB like Zoom Pro; You need SSO and an active directory connector for IT-managed enterprise rollouts; You operate in many countries and want a vendor that explicitly advertises reach across 190+ countries

**Choose Zoom if:** You want a genuinely free tier to use indefinitely, since GoTo Meeting offers no free plan, only a 14-day trial; You need meetings that scale up to 1,000 participants, well beyond GoTo Meeting's 250-participant cap even on Enterprise; You want a native Linux desktop client, which GoTo Meeting doesn't offer; You want one platform that also covers phone, team chat, and whiteboarding, even if some of those (Zoom Phone, Webinars, Rooms) are separate add-ons

## At a glance

|  | GoTo Meeting | Zoom |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Pricing | Custom pricing | Free tier · paid from $14.16/mo |
| License | Paid | Freemium |
| Best for | regulated and IT-managed businesses (healthcare, education, professional services) that need HIPAA-compliant video conferencing with enterprise admin controls | hybrid teams that need reliable HD video meetings, phone, and chat under one login, from solo users on the free plan up to 1,000-participant company town halls |
| Ratings | Capterra 4.4/5 (11,531 reviews) | Capterra 4.6/5 (14,659 reviews) |

## Feature comparison

| Feature | GoTo Meeting | Zoom |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Starting price (published) | Unknown (GoTo's pricing page loads dollar amounts dynamically and wasn't retrievable as static text) | Yes (free (Basic); paid Pro from $14.16/mo billed annually) |
| Free tier | No (no free tier, only a 14-day trial) | Yes (Basic tier free forever, with meeting-length limits) |
| Max participants (top tier) | Partial (caps at 250 participants even on Enterprise) | Yes (up to 1,000 participants on Enterprise) |
| Cloud recording storage | Yes (unlimited cloud recording included from the Professional tier) | Partial (10GB cloud storage at Pro; unlimited only at Enterprise) |
| AI meeting summaries and transcription | Yes (included on paid plans) | Yes (AI Companion included free on paid plans, 3 free uses on Basic) |
| HIPAA compliance | Yes (HIPAA-compliant video with SOC2-certified data centers) | Unknown (not specified in our listing data) |
| Platforms | Partial (web, Windows, macOS, iOS, Android (no native Linux client)) | Yes (web, Windows, macOS, Linux, iOS, Android) |
| SSO / admin controls | Yes (SSO and active directory connector included) | Yes (SSO and managed domains from the Business tier ($18.33/mo)) |
| External rating | Yes (4.4/5 from 11,531 reviews (Capterra)) | Yes (4.6/5 from 14,659 reviews (Capterra)) |
| Global reach | Yes (available in 190+ countries) | Unknown (not specified in our listing data) |
| Meeting length limits | Unknown (no free tier to compare meeting-length limits) | Partial (free Basic group meetings capped at 40 minutes) |
| Unified communications (phone, chat, whiteboard) | Partial (broader GoTo Connect/Resolve suite exists but is a separate, potentially confusing bundle) | Partial (Zoom Phone, Webinars, and Rooms are separate paid add-ons on top of the base license) |
| Trial terms | Yes (14-day free trial, no credit card required) | Yes (Basic tier is free forever, functioning as an ongoing trial) |
| Pricing transparency | No (dollar prices not published as static text on the pricing page) | No (Zoom's own site no longer publishes exact Pro/Business dollar figures; third-party trackers report about $14-17 and $18-22/mo) |

## Which is cheaper, GoTo Meeting or Zoom?

Neither vendor publishes complete static pricing, but Zoom has a genuinely free tier while GoTo Meeting offers only a 14-day trial.

GoTo Meeting's pricing page loads dollar amounts dynamically and no static figures were retrievable in our listing data. Zoom's Basic tier is free forever (with a 40-minute cap on group meetings), and its Pro tier is reported at roughly $14.16/month billed annually by third-party pricing trackers, since Zoom's own site no longer publishes exact Pro and Business dollar amounts either.

## Is GoTo Meeting HIPAA-compliant?

Yes — GoTo Meeting offers HIPAA-compliant video conferencing with SOC2-certified data centers, a compliance claim our listing data doesn't document for Zoom.

## How many participants can GoTo Meeting and Zoom support?

Zoom scales much higher — up to 1,000 participants on Enterprise — while GoTo Meeting caps out at 250 participants even on its Enterprise plan.

## Does Zoom offer unlimited cloud recording like GoTo Meeting?

No — Zoom's Pro tier includes only 10GB of cloud storage, while GoTo Meeting includes unlimited cloud recording starting at its Professional tier.

## Strengths and weaknesses

### GoTo Meeting

- Pro: HIPAA-compliant video meetings with SOC2-certified data centers for healthcare and regulated industries.
- Pro: One-click meeting join with no download required for attendees.
- Pro: AI meeting summaries, transcription, and slide-to-PDF conversion included on paid plans.
- Pro: Admin center with active directory connector, SSO, and downloadable diagnostic reports for IT-managed rollouts.
- Con: Exact pricing is not published as static text; the pricing page loads dollar amounts dynamically, requiring extra steps to compare costs.
- Con: No free tier; only a 14-day trial with no credit card required.
- Con: Professional tier caps at 150 participants, below the 250-person capacity of competitors like Zoom at similar price points.
- Con: GoTo's broader product suite (GoTo Connect, GoTo Resolve) can make it unclear which bundle a buyer actually needs versus standalone GoTo Meeting.

### Zoom

- Pro: AI Companion (meeting summaries, smart chapters, follow-up suggestions) is included free on paid plans rather than a paid add-on.
- Pro: Consistently reliable HD video and audio even on weaker connections, thanks to adaptive bandwidth handling.
- Pro: One platform covers meetings, phone (Zoom Phone), team chat, whiteboard, and docs instead of stitching together separate tools.
- Pro: Native apps for Windows, macOS, Linux, iOS, and Android, including a full Linux client many competitors skip.
- Con: Free Basic plan limits group meetings to 40 minutes, forcing an upgrade for most recurring team calls.
- Con: Exact Pro and Business pricing is no longer published on Zoom's own site, requiring a sales conversation or third-party source to confirm.
- Con: Zoom Phone, large-meeting capacity, and webinar capabilities are separate paid add-ons on top of the base per-user license.
- Con: Business Plus was folded into a bundled add-on rather than sold as its own standalone tier, complicating plan comparisons.

## Which fits your use case?

| Use case | Pick | Why |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Healthcare provider needing HIPAA-compliant video conferencing | GoTo Meeting | GoTo Meeting explicitly offers HIPAA-compliant video with SOC2-certified data centers; our listing data doesn't document that for Zoom. |
| Company hosting large all-hands meetings or town halls | Zoom | Zoom scales to 1,000 participants on Enterprise, well above GoTo Meeting's 250-participant cap. |
| Team that wants to test video conferencing without paying anything | Zoom | Zoom's Basic tier is free forever; GoTo Meeting offers only a 14-day trial with no permanent free plan. |
| Organization that records most meetings and wants storage included | GoTo Meeting | GoTo Meeting includes unlimited cloud recording from its Professional tier; Zoom Pro caps cloud storage at 10GB. |
| Linux-based IT department standardizing on native desktop clients | Zoom | Zoom ships a native Linux client; GoTo Meeting's platform list has no Linux support. |

## Migration FAQ

### Should I use GoTo Meeting or Zoom?

Use GoTo Meeting for HIPAA-compliant video and unlimited cloud recording in regulated industries; use Zoom for a free tier, higher participant limits, and native Linux support.

### Does GoTo Meeting have a free plan?

No — GoTo Meeting offers only a 14-day trial with no credit card required, while Zoom's Basic tier is free forever with a 40-minute cap on group meetings.

### Which supports more meeting participants, GoTo Meeting or Zoom?

Zoom, which scales to 1,000 participants on Enterprise versus GoTo Meeting's 250-participant cap even on its top plan.

### Is GoTo Meeting HIPAA-compliant?

Yes — GoTo Meeting is built for HIPAA-compliant video with SOC2-certified data centers, a claim our listing data doesn't document for Zoom.

### Can Zoom replace GoTo Meeting for a regulated business?

Only if HIPAA compliance isn't a hard requirement — our listing data documents that claim for GoTo Meeting but not for Zoom.

## Neither a match?

- 5 alternatives to GoTo Meeting: https://findalternative.to/goto-meeting
- 6 alternatives to Zoom: https://findalternative.to/zoom

---

Markdown mirror of https://findalternative.to/compare/goto-meeting-vs-zoom — findalternative.to, honestly ranked software alternatives. AI info: https://findalternative.to/ai