# Adobe Photoshop vs Affinity (2026)

By Noah — last updated & pricing verified September 14, 2026.

> **Verdict:** Choose Adobe Photoshop if you need industry-standard, layer-based pixel editing with generative AI fill and expand tools. Choose Affinity if you want a completely free professional editing suite and don't need Photoshop's AI generative tools. Price is the deciding factor: Affinity's Vector, Pixel, and Layout studios are free with a Canva account, while Photoshop starts at $19.99/month bundled with Lightroom, or $22.99/month alone.

**Choose Adobe Photoshop if:** You need Generative Fill and Generative Expand to add, remove, or extend image content from a prompt; You want the industry benchmark for layer-based compositing and retouching; You want deep Creative Cloud integration with Illustrator and Lightroom; You need an iPad app for on-the-go editing that syncs to desktop; You want a free web-based Firefly editor to try generative editing without a subscription

**Choose Affinity if:** You want a completely free, professional-grade Vector, Pixel, and Layout suite; You want vector and page-layout tools bundled with photo editing in one free app; You're not interested in Photoshop's generative AI tools and want to avoid paying for them; You only need Windows or macOS and don't require iPad access yet; You want to avoid Photoshop's steep learning curve and heavy hardware demands

## At a glance

|  | Adobe Photoshop | Affinity |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Pricing | Free tier · paid from $19.99/mo | Free tier · paid from $14.99/mo |
| License | Freemium | Freemium |
| Best for | photographers and designers who need pixel-level compositing, retouching, or AI-generated image edits beyond what non-destructive editors offer | designers and photographers who want Photoshop/Illustrator-level editing tools without paying a subscription, and don't need AI generative features |
| Ratings | Capterra 4.8/5 (2,466 reviews) | Capterra 4.8/5 (99 reviews) |

## Feature comparison

| Feature | Adobe Photoshop | Affinity |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Starting price | Yes (from $19.99/mo (Photography plan w/ Lightroom, billed annually)) | Yes (from $0 (core app, free with Canva account)) |
| Free tier | Partial (free web-based Firefly editor, basic generative editing only) | Yes (full Vector, Pixel, and Layout studios free, no restrictions) |
| Platforms | Yes (web, Windows, macOS, iOS) | Partial (Windows, macOS only; no iPad or Linux yet) |
| License | Partial (freemium, closed-source) | Partial (freemium, closed-source) |
| Core function | Yes (layer-based pixel editing, compositing, retouching) | Yes (layer-based pixel editing plus vector and layout studios) |
| Generative Fill / Expand | Yes (Generative Fill and Expand, from $22.99/mo) | Yes (Generative Fill/Expand, gated behind Canva Pro at $14.99/mo) |
| Vector and page-layout tools included | No (Photoshop is raster-only) | Yes (Vector and Layout studios bundled with Pixel editing) |
| iPad app | Yes (Photoshop for iPad included) | No (listed as coming soon, not yet available) |
| Included storage | Yes (100GB storage on single-app plan) | Unknown (not specified in the data) |
| Team plan pricing | Yes (from $37.99/mo/seat, billed annually) | Unknown (not specified in the data) |
| External rating (Capterra) | Yes (4.8/5 from 2,466 reviews) | Yes (4.8/5 from 99 reviews (Affinity Photo)) |
| Hardware demands | No (heavy on CPU/GPU, reviewers report performance issues) | Unknown (not specified in the data) |
| Learning curve | No (steep, requires layers/masks knowledge) | Partial (moderate, merges three former apps into one workspace) |

## Adobe Photoshop vs Affinity pricing: which costs less?

Affinity costs less, since its core Vector, Pixel, and Layout studios are free with a Canva account, against Photoshop's $19.99/month starting price bundled with Lightroom.

Affinity's core app has no cost and no feature restrictions, requiring only a free Canva account. Its optional AI tools (Generative Fill, Expand, image/vector generation) sit behind a $14.99/month Canva Pro subscription. Photoshop's cheapest bundle is the Photography plan at $19.99/month with Lightroom, or $22.99/month for Photoshop alone, both requiring an ongoing subscription.

## Which is easier to use, Adobe Photoshop or Affinity?

Affinity is rated a moderate learning curve against Photoshop's steep learning curve in the bundle data.

Photoshop's steep rating reflects the depth of its layers, masks, and blend-mode system, which takes real time for newcomers to master. Affinity's moderate rating reflects that it merges three former standalone apps (Designer, Photo, Publisher) into one workspace with three studios, adding some complexity, but each individual tool is described as comparable to its Adobe counterpart without the same steep curve.

## Can Affinity replace Adobe Photoshop?

For most layer-based photo editing and compositing, yes, but Affinity's generative AI tools require a paid Canva Pro add-on that Photoshop includes at lower tiers.

Affinity's Pixel studio covers the same layer-based editing job as Photoshop, plus bundles vector and page-layout tools Photoshop doesn't have. Its Generative Fill and Expand tools require a separate $14.99/month Canva Pro subscription, whereas Photoshop includes generative credits starting on its base single-app plan. Affinity also has no iPad app yet, unlike Photoshop's iPad version.

## Strengths and weaknesses

### Adobe Photoshop

- Pro: Layer-based, pixel-level editing that remains the industry benchmark for compositing and retouching.
- Pro: Generative Fill and Remove tool cut hours off object removal and background work.
- Pro: Deep Creative Cloud integration shares fonts, assets, and files with Illustrator and Lightroom.
- Pro: Free web-based Firefly editor lets anyone try generative editing without a subscription.
- Con: No perpetual license; access ends when the subscription lapses.
- Con: Steep learning curve for users unfamiliar with layers, masks, and blend modes.
- Con: Demanding on hardware; large multi-layer files can slow even high-end machines.
- Con: Cancelling an annual-billed-monthly plan within the first year can trigger an early termination fee.

### Affinity

- Pro: Full professional design suite (vector, raster, layout) free with no time limit or feature gate on the core tools.
- Pro: Requires only a free Canva account, no credit card, to unlock everything in the base app.
- Pro: Backed by Canva's infrastructure and update cadence rather than a small independent studio.
- Pro: Optional Canva Pro AI features integrate directly inside the same app rather than requiring a separate tool.
- Con: Generative AI features are gated behind a paid Canva Pro subscription ($14.99/month or $119.99/year).
- Con: No iPad app yet; it is listed as coming soon rather than available.
- Con: No Linux support.
- Con: The 2026 rebrand merging three separate apps into one changes workflows for users of the older per-app Affinity Designer/Photo/Publisher versions.

## Which fits your use case?

| Use case | Pick | Why |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Photo retoucher needing industry-standard generative AI fill and expand | Adobe Photoshop | Photoshop's Generative Fill and Expand are built into the core layer stack from the single-app plan; Affinity requires a separate Canva Pro subscription for equivalent AI tools. |
| Freelancer who wants free vector, photo, and layout tools in one app | Affinity | Affinity's core app bundles all three studios for free; Photoshop is raster-only and starts at $19.99/month. |
| iPad-based artist who wants Apple Pencil support synced to desktop | Adobe Photoshop | Photoshop has an iPad app; Affinity's iPad support is still listed as coming soon. |
| Budget-conscious creator who doesn't need generative AI | Affinity | Affinity's core app is free with no feature gate; Photoshop requires an ongoing subscription starting at $19.99/month. |
| Designer who wants both vector illustration and photo editing in one tool | Affinity | Affinity bundles Vector, Pixel, and Layout studios together; Photoshop is a raster-only editor without vector or layout tools. |

## Migration FAQ

### Should I use Adobe Photoshop or Affinity?

Use Adobe Photoshop if you need industry-standard generative AI fill and expand tools with an iPad app; use Affinity if you want a free professional design suite and don't need Photoshop's AI features.

### Is Adobe Photoshop cheaper than Affinity?

No — Affinity's core Vector, Pixel, and Layout studios are free with a Canva account, while Photoshop starts at $19.99/month bundled with Lightroom.

### Can Affinity replace Adobe Photoshop?

For layer-based photo editing, yes, but Affinity's generative AI tools require a separate paid Canva Pro subscription that Photoshop includes at lower tiers.

### Is there a free alternative to Adobe Photoshop?

Yes, Affinity's core app is free with a Canva account and includes layer-based photo editing plus vector and page-layout tools that Photoshop doesn't bundle.

### Does Affinity have an iPad app like Photoshop?

No, the bundle data shows Affinity's iPad support is still listed as coming soon, while Adobe Photoshop already has a shipped iPad app.

## Neither a match?

- 5 alternatives to Adobe Photoshop: https://findalternative.to/adobe-photoshop
- 5 alternatives to Affinity: https://findalternative.to/affinity

---

Markdown mirror of https://findalternative.to/compare/adobe-photoshop-vs-affinity — findalternative.to, honestly ranked software alternatives. AI info: https://findalternative.to/ai