# Adobe Lightroom vs Affinity (2026)

By Noah — last updated & pricing verified September 14, 2026.

> **Verdict:** Choose Adobe Lightroom if you shoot in volume and need cloud-synced, non-destructive photo editing with AI-assisted culling across every device. Choose Affinity if you want a completely free professional editing suite and don't need Lightroom's photo-specific catalog workflow or generative AI. Price and workflow are the deciding factors: Affinity's core app is free with a Canva account, while Lightroom starts at $11.99/month, but Lightroom's catalog-based, cross-device photo organization has no equivalent in Affinity's data.

**Choose Adobe Lightroom if:** You shoot in volume and need a photo-specific catalog that syncs edits across desktop, web, and mobile; You want AI-assisted culling that scores photos by sharpness and focus automatically; You want non-destructive edits stored as metadata rather than a separate layered file; You need Generative Remove or Lens Blur for AI-simulated depth of field; You want Lightroom Classic's local, file-system-based catalog option included in the same subscription

**Choose Affinity if:** You want a completely free, professional-grade Vector, Pixel, and Layout suite; You don't need cloud photo sync and are comfortable managing files yourself; You want vector and page-layout tools bundled with photo editing in one free app; You're not interested in Lightroom's generative AI features and want to avoid paying for them; You only need Windows or macOS and don't require mobile or iPad access yet

## At a glance

|  | Adobe Lightroom | Affinity |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Pricing | Free tier · paid from $11.99/mo | Free tier · paid from $14.99/mo |
| License | Freemium | Freemium |
| Best for | photographers who shoot in volume and want cloud-synced, non-destructive edits and AI-assisted culling across every device | designers and photographers who want Photoshop/Illustrator-level editing tools without paying a subscription, and don't need AI generative features |
| Ratings | Capterra 4.8/5 (327 reviews) | Capterra 4.8/5 (99 reviews) |

## Feature comparison

| Feature | Adobe Lightroom | Affinity |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Starting price | Yes (from $11.99/mo (Lightroom plan, billed annually)) | Yes (from $0 (core app, free with Canva account)) |
| Free tier | Partial (free mobile app covers basic editing only) | Yes (full Vector, Pixel, and Layout studios free, no restrictions) |
| Platforms | Yes (web, Windows, macOS, iOS, Android) | Partial (Windows, macOS only; no iPad or Linux yet) |
| License | Partial (freemium, closed-source) | Partial (freemium, closed-source) |
| Cloud catalog sync across devices | Yes (cloud-native catalog sync included) | No (no cloud photo catalog noted in the data) |
| Non-destructive, metadata-based editing | Yes (catalog-based, non-destructive by design) | Unknown (not specified in the data) |
| AI-assisted photo culling | Yes (Assisted Culling scores photos by sharpness/focus) | No (no culling feature noted in the data) |
| Generative AI editing (fill/remove) | Yes (Generative Remove, from $11.99/mo) | Yes (Generative Fill/Expand, gated behind Canva Pro at $14.99/mo) |
| Vector and page-layout tools included | No (Lightroom is photo-only) | Yes (Vector and Layout studios bundled with Pixel editing) |
| Included cloud storage | Yes (1TB included with Lightroom plan) | Unknown (not specified in the data) |
| iPad support | Unknown (not specified for Lightroom directly) | No (listed as coming soon, not yet available) |
| External rating (Capterra) | Yes (4.8/5 from 327 reviews) | Yes (4.8/5 from 99 reviews (Affinity Photo)) |
| Storage/capacity complaints | No (1TB fills quickly for RAW shooters, extra storage costs more) | Unknown (not specified in the data) |

## Adobe Lightroom vs Affinity pricing: which costs less?

Affinity costs less, since its core Vector, Pixel, and Layout studios are free with a Canva account, against Lightroom's $11.99/month starting price.

Affinity's core app has no cost and no feature restrictions, requiring only a free Canva account to unlock everything. Its optional AI tools (Generative Fill, Expand, image/vector generation) sit behind a $14.99/month Canva Pro subscription. Lightroom starts at $11.99/month billed annually and includes 1TB of cloud storage and AI culling tools that Affinity's free tier doesn't match.

## Which is easier to use, Adobe Lightroom or Affinity?

Both are rated a moderate learning curve in the bundle data, so neither has a clear edge on approachability.

Lightroom's moderate rating reflects the need to understand its catalog model before unlocking its full editing power, which trips up first-time users. Affinity's moderate rating reflects its merger of three former standalone apps (Designer, Photo, Publisher) into one workspace with three studios, which adds surface area even though each individual tool is comparable to its Adobe counterpart.

## Can Affinity replace Adobe Lightroom?

No, the bundle data doesn't show Affinity offering Lightroom's cloud catalog sync or AI-assisted photo culling, both central to how Lightroom organizes large photo libraries.

Affinity's Pixel studio can handle photo editing tasks similar to Photoshop, but the data shows no equivalent to Lightroom's catalog-based, cross-device photo organization or its Assisted Culling feature for triaging large shoots. Photographers who rely on Lightroom primarily to manage and sync thousands of RAW files across devices are less likely to find Affinity a full substitute.

## Strengths and weaknesses

### Adobe Lightroom

- Pro: Non-destructive, catalog-based editing that syncs across desktop, web, and mobile automatically.
- Pro: AI tools like Generative Remove and Assisted Culling cut down time spent on repetitive photo triage.
- Pro: Free mobile app covers basic editing without a subscription.
- Pro: Lightroom Classic (included) gives desktop-only photographers local file control instead of cloud storage.
- Con: 1TB of included cloud storage fills up fast for photographers shooting RAW in volume; extra storage costs more.
- Con: Performance and sync can lag with large catalogs, per user reviews.
- Con: Cancelling an annual-billed-monthly plan within the first year can trigger an early termination fee.
- Con: Full editing power requires understanding Lightroom's catalog model, which trips up first-time users.

### Affinity

- Pro: Full professional design suite (vector, raster, layout) free with no time limit or feature gate on the core tools.
- Pro: Requires only a free Canva account, no credit card, to unlock everything in the base app.
- Pro: Backed by Canva's infrastructure and update cadence rather than a small independent studio.
- Pro: Optional Canva Pro AI features integrate directly inside the same app rather than requiring a separate tool.
- Con: Generative AI features are gated behind a paid Canva Pro subscription ($14.99/month or $119.99/year).
- Con: No iPad app yet; it is listed as coming soon rather than available.
- Con: No Linux support.
- Con: The 2026 rebrand merging three separate apps into one changes workflows for users of the older per-app Affinity Designer/Photo/Publisher versions.

## Which fits your use case?

| Use case | Pick | Why |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Photographer shooting high volume who needs cross-device catalog sync | Adobe Lightroom | Lightroom's cloud-native catalog sync carries edit history and organization across desktop, web, and mobile; Affinity has no cloud catalog in the data. |
| Designer who wants free vector, photo, and layout tools in one app | Affinity | Affinity's core app bundles all three studios for free; Lightroom is a photo-only tool that costs from $11.99/month. |
| Photographer wanting to cut down triage time on large shoots | Adobe Lightroom | Lightroom's Assisted Culling automatically scores photos by sharpness and focus; Affinity has no equivalent noted. |
| Budget-conscious creator who doesn't need cloud photo sync | Affinity | Affinity's core app is free with no feature gate; Lightroom requires an ongoing subscription starting at $11.99/month. |
| iPad-based photographer wanting a mobile editing workflow | Adobe Lightroom | Lightroom runs on iOS and Android; Affinity's iPad support is still listed as coming soon. |

## Migration FAQ

### Should I use Adobe Lightroom or Affinity?

Use Adobe Lightroom if you need cloud-synced, non-destructive photo cataloging with AI-assisted culling; use Affinity if you want a free professional design suite and don't need Lightroom's photo-specific cloud workflow.

### Is Adobe Lightroom cheaper than Affinity?

No — Affinity's core Vector, Pixel, and Layout studios are free with a Canva account, while Lightroom starts at $11.99/month.

### Can Affinity replace Adobe Lightroom?

Not fully — the bundle data shows no cloud catalog sync or AI-assisted photo culling in Affinity, both central to how Lightroom organizes large photo libraries.

### Is there a free alternative to Adobe Lightroom?

Affinity's core app is free with a Canva account and includes photo editing tools, though it lacks Lightroom's cloud catalog sync and AI culling features shown in the data.

### Does Affinity include vector and page-layout tools like Lightroom does?

Yes, unlike Lightroom, which is a photo-only tool, Affinity bundles Vector and Layout studios alongside its Pixel photo-editing studio in one free app.

## Neither a match?

- 6 alternatives to Adobe Lightroom: https://findalternative.to/adobe-lightroom
- 5 alternatives to Affinity: https://findalternative.to/affinity

---

Markdown mirror of https://findalternative.to/compare/adobe-lightroom-vs-affinity — findalternative.to, honestly ranked software alternatives. AI info: https://findalternative.to/ai